What Conservation Areas can I access with my Bruce Trail Membership?

The Bruce Trail runs like a necklace through dozens of Conservation Areas between Niagara and Tobermory. These Conservation Areas are run by 7 different Conservation Authorities, each with its own management regulations and fee structure.

A number of local Conservation Authorities, in appreciation for the work that local BTC volunteers do to build and maintain the trail, have extended certain access privileges to BTC members.

In general, these agreements allow for access to the Bruce Trail only. They do NOT allow for parking or access to other Conservation Area features and facilities.  

Please carry your membership card with you on hikes to these areas. If park staff request payment, please pay the fee.

Agreements are subject to change.


Current Agreements:

Conservation Halton:

Conservation Areas covered:

  • Rattlesnake Point
  • Hilton Falls
  • Crawford Lake
  • Kelso
  • Mount Nemo

Discounted Annual Conservation Halton Passes for BTC Members:

a) CH Annual Family Pass for BTC Members -- $65 (regularly $115) 
This pass will provide full access to all CH gated parks and applicable services throughout the year.

b) CH Annual Individual Pass for BTC Members -- $45 (regularly $50)

These special CH Annual Passes can be purchased at:

Just bring your BTC membership card toprovide proof of membership and receive the discount.

BTC members must pay fees for vehicle access to these Conservation Areas either through daily admission fees or the above discounted annual passes.

Through-hikers do not pay admission: BTC members accessing the Bruce Trail by foot (i.e. not using the parking lots) will not be charged admission to access the Trail in CH gated parks.

Volunteers involved in trail improvement projects or inspections do not pay admission. A permit request must be submitted and approved for all volunteer activities on trails in Conservation Halton parks.   To request a permit, please contact Shanie Van Rossum (Conservation Halton) at 905-336-1158 ext. 239. 

Credit Valley Conservation Authority

Conservation Areas covered:

  • Terra Cotta
  • Belfountain

Access is free for through-hikers, or those accessing the Bruce Trail through these CAs on foot.

BTC members must still pay fees for vehicle access / parking and/or use of facilities.


Hamilton Region Conservation Authority

Conservation Areas covered:

  • Devil's Punch Bowl
  • Felker's Falls
  • Iroquoia Heights
  • Dundas Valley*
  • Spencer Gorge/Webster's Falls
  • Borer's Falls

Access is free for through-hikers, or those accessing the Bruce Trail through these CAs on foot.

BTC members must still pay fees for vehicle access at the parking lots in the Christie Conservation Area, Dundas Valley Area, and Webster's Falls / Spencer Gorge Area (including Harvest Road and Fallsview Road lots.)

Dundas Valley Conservation Area

Walk-in fees have been waived for the Dundas Valley Conservation Area as of June 2012. In the past, members of the BTC were asked to stay on the Bruce Trail as it runs through the DVCA. Now, members are free to walk on all of the trails in the DVCA and enjoy the Dundas Valley Trail Centre. Vehicle and parking fees still apply.

Tiffany Falls Parking

Parking at Tiffany Falls, part of Dundas Valley Conservation Area, is now free for BTC members displaying their valid BTC membership card on the vehicle dashboard.
NOTE: This is the ONLY parking lot in the Hamilton Conservation Authority Conservation Areas where this is permitted. Please do not attempt it at any other parking lots.