Btc logo
Search Cart

There is nothing in your cart. Visit the store

View Cart
Donate Now
Special Notice - Most of the Bruce Trail is open. Plan ahead, check for closures, and hike responsibly. See COVID-19 Updates

Call for Nominations: BTC Board of Directors

Update: The deadline for nominations has now passed (July 31, 2020 at 4 pm). Thank you for your interest.

This message kicks off the nominations process for upcoming vacancies on our Board of Directors. A 19-member Board governs the BTC, with each Director serving a minimum three-year term. In accordance with the BTC by-laws, elections are held for the membership to select qualified Directors to fill vacancies arising each year.

This year’s election is scheduled for the BTC Annual Meeting on October 17, 2020, in a location to be confirmed.

Call for Nominations

At the upcoming BTC Annual Meeting, the Board is seeking to fill seven (7) vacancies, with four (4) being nominees who have sufficient ties with one of Caledon Hills, Sydenham, Blue Mountains, or Iroquoia Clubs. Of the 7 vacancies, three (3) Directors will be seeking re-election, including those with current ties to the Blue Mountains and Iroquoia Clubs.

Baseline eligibility and qualification criteria are set out in the BTC By-Laws and in provincial laws, and require that Director candidates must:

  1. be a member in good standing of the BTC;
  2. be 18 years of age;
  3. not be an undischarged bankrupt;
  4. not be found under the Substitute Decisions Act, 1992 or under the Mental Health Act to be incapable of managing property;
  5. not be found to be incapable by any court in Canada or elsewhere; and,
  6. not be an “ineligible individual” under the Income Tax Act.

The Board is seeking Directors who possess core competencies and demonstrate a commitment to the BTC’s mission and values, and a willingness to be open-minded and think strategically. A description of the ten core competencies of the BTC Board of Directors as a whole can be found here.

This year, the Board has determined the following areas of competency are required:

  • Connection to on the ground Bruce Trail activities;
  • Government and stakeholder relations skills;
  • Fundraising experience and knowledge;
  • Property acquisition and land management experience;
  • People management skills, knowledge and experience; and/or,
  • Legal knowledge, skills and experience.

Visit our Board of Directors page for more information on the Bruce Trail Conservancy By-Laws, Nominations Process, or Core Competencies.

Directors are required to devote the necessary time to be a fully participating member of the Board and one Board Committee. Board meetings are typically held six times a year, usually the first Saturday of the month in September, October, December, February, April and June. Meetings are held at convenient locations along the trail or at the BTC Office in Dundas. Some Board and Committee meetings are conducted through electronic means.

Nomination Form

All members wishing to be considered for a Director position should download this Nomination Form:

Mail, fax or email the completed form and profile/resume and any other related documents to:

The Bruce Trail Conservancy
Attn: Executive Assistant
PO Box 857, Hamilton, ON  L8N 3N9
Fax: 905-628-8081

Nominations must be received no later than 4:00 p.m. on July 31, 2020. Candidates are encouraged to submit their completed Nomination Form as early as possible.

New this Year – Voting through an Electronic Proxy

BTC Members have always been able to vote by attending the Annual Meeting in person or by completing a discretionary Proxy Form. I am pleased to announce that for the first time, members will be able to submit an electronic proxy directing how you wish your vote to be cast on each motion at the Annual Meeting in October.

If you have provided your email address to the BTC, you will receive a communication in early September to have your voice heard in this way. If you haven’t yet provided your email address, I would encourage you to do so by contacting to ensure you receive all BTC communications promptly and conveniently.

Please feel free to be in touch with me at should you have any questions about the Call for Nominations process or the electronic proxy method of voting.

All the best to you and yours,

Leah Myers
Board Chair, Bruce Trail Conservancy

Board of Directors:
Cynthia Archer, Warren Bell, Stephanie Bird, Marlis Butcher, John Dickason, David Hass, Brian Johnston, Corrie Kellestine, Bruce King, David Lamb, Jaclyn Moody, Leah Myers, Anjlee Patel, Frank Schoenhoeffer, Wendy Thompson, Bonni Titgemeyer, Michael Treuman, Danielle Waters, John Whitworth