Btc logo
Search Cart

There is nothing in your cart. Visit the store

View Cart
Donate Now
Special Notice - Phased re-opening of the Bruce Trail beginning May 15, 2020 Read our COVID-19 Updates

BTC announces new Board appointment

HAMILTON, October 10, 2012 -
The Bruce Trail Conservancy (BTC), is pleased to announce the appointment of Mr. Neil Hester to President of the BTC Board of Directors.

For more than 30 years, Mr. Hester worked as a land use and environmental planner for the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, the Ministry of the Environment and the Niagara Escarpment Commission. His work as the MNR's Niagara Escarpment Coordinator allowed him to contribute to the first Comprehensive Plan for the Bruce Trail and mapping an "Optimum Route" for the Trail. In addition, Mr. Hester oversaw the Province's land acquisition program for Escarpment Parks and the Bruce Trail as well as providing planning advice related to Niagara Escarpment Plan amendments.

Recently Mr. Hester reflected, "the work we did to purchase land to secure the Bruce Trail and to grow the Niagara Escarpment Parks System was very important.  It is this part of my career that gives me the most satisfaction".  Mr. Hester continues that important work in his role as President of the Bruce Trail Conservancy, working with the Board of Directors and Staff to provide strategic direction and advance the mission of the Bruce Trail Conservancy.  "I am very honoured to be elected President of such an esteemed organization," said Hester.

The 2012-2013 Bruce Trail Conservancy Board of Directors is as follows:
      * Lynn Allen (At Large)
      * Roger Beach (Treasurer)
      * Warren Bell (At Large)
      * Walter Brewer (Peninsula Club)
      * Marlis Butcher (At Large)
      * John Grandy (At Large)
      * Neil Hester (President)
      * Jean Kerins (Vice President, Programs; Caledon Hills Club)
      * Peter Leeney (Toronto Club)
      * Joëlle Martin (Beaver Valley Club)
      * Janice McClelland (Executive Vice President)
      * Bruce Price (At Large)
      * Connie Reeve (At Large)
      * Don Richards (Sydenham Club)
      * Malcolm Sanderson (Secretary)
      * Trudy Senesi (Niagara Club)
      * Marietta Service (Blue Mountains Club)
      * Isabelle Sheardown (Dufferin Hi-Land Club)
      * Paul Toffoletti (Iroquoia Club)

Beth Kümmling, Executive Director of The Bruce Trail Conservancy, noted: "Our Board is an outstanding group of talented people who bring a wealth of local, regional and provincial wisdom to our work.  We look forward to the leadership and advice they will provide the Bruce Trail Conservancy community as we work towards our 50th Anniversary Goal: 5,000 acres of Niagara Escarpment landscape containing the Bruce Trail secured, stewarded and made available to the public over the next 5 years."

About The Bruce Trail Conservancy
The Bruce Trail Conservancy is a charitable organization committed to establishing a conservation corridor containing a public footpath along the Niagara Escarpment, in order to protect its natural ecosystems and to promote environmentally responsible public access to this UNESCO World Biosphere Reserve.